Thursday, April 28, 2016

Our Love Story: Part 7

"Here's the thing about this love story of ours. Its long. And drawn out. And mushy-gushy. And even a bit cheesy. But it's true. And I've decided to take my time writing it, capturing all the special details of those moments I never want to forget. So if mushy-gushy, cheesy love stories aren't your thing, I totally get that. Just know that I'm writing this as a gift - to my family, and my children, and their future children - and also, for [Parker] and me - so that on those days when the kids are screaming, the laundry is overflowing and the bills are rolling in...on those days when it all just seems so hard, we'll have this to remind us of those first moments when we fell in love. And if sappy, detail ridden love stories are your thing, well then you've come to the right place." -Ashley Stock
To read the beginning of Our Love Story click here.

Mid March 2011
Around mid March 2011, Parker invited several people including me to watch him open his mission call.

Monday, April 4, 2016

Currently Reading: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

If you like any sort of post apocalyptic society type books (Hunger Games, Divergent, etc.), The Lunar Chronicles series by Marissa Meyer is for you! I feel like the biggest nerd when I talk about these books because they have characters called Lunars who live on the moon and cyborgs - humans with mechanical elements built into their bodies and they are computer programmed - and all of this sci-fi-esque content. There are 4 full length novels and 2 novella type books that give a little more insight into the backstory of specific characters. Each of the full length novels is based off of a different fairytale and they all intertwine into some edge-of-your-seat/must-know-what-happens-next goodness!

Book 1: Cinder is based off of Cinderella if you couldn't guess that already.
Book 2: Scarlet is based off of The Little Red Riding Hood.
Book 3: Cress is based off of the story of Rapunzel.
Book 4: Winter is based off of Snow White.

Novella 1: Fairest is all about the evil queen and why she turned out to be so completely twisted.
Novella 2: Stars Above is the backstory to the several of the other characters and how they came to be.